My Porsche 911 Forum
You are not logged in. Please Login.

Posted: Apr 15, 2009 7:25:55 pm
JK

Hello all as a complete 911 newbie I am just after a bit of advice on improving the handling of my 3.0 litre sc. The problem is the massive understeer I am getting while cornering.

Is this just part and parcel of 911 ownership or can I minimise it somehow?

Thanks in advance

Jay.

Posted: Apr 15, 2009 8:10:44 pm
Pete

Hi Jay -

Welcome to the forum.

I'll kick things off but i'm sure others will chime in.

Despite their reputation for oversteer the 911 actually tends to understeer.  Oversteer normally happens when a driver lifts off the throttle when cornering.

Anyway to your understeer problem.  There is plenty you can do to get your handling like a dream.  When set up well the older 911's handle fantastically IMHO.

The first thing to do it get it corner weighted and balanced and then have the geometry set correctly.  Given you have had a few changes to your car i.e. light wieght plastic bumpers stripped interior etc I would suggest you first corner weight the car with you in the driver seat. If you dont get the front to rear balance and cross weights right the handing will be off as well as braking.  Tyre wear will also be off.  You also won't get heat into all of the tyre width and you'l lose grip.

Next I would suggest alignment.  Getting camber caster and toe right is essential for proper handinling.  If its going to be primarily a track car then I would suggest dialing in a couple of degrees of +ve camber on the front although it can be tough to pull the struts in.  A strut brace can help here.  You then need to think about the toe.  Porsche suggest 0 degree to Plus half a degree (ish).  Toe out like this will give you a little straight line stability.

Then when all of thhis is done you can think about your front and rear roll bars.  Do you know what size you are running?  This will effect the tendency for over/understeer.

Posted: Apr 15, 2009 8:18:39 pm
JK